Congress candidates Mahesh Kumar, Balmoor Venkat file MLC nominations

Hyderabad: The Congress candidates Mahesh Kumar Goud and Balmoor Venkat Narsing Rao filed their nominations as party’s MLC candidates under the MLAs quota at the Assembly here on Thursday, January 18.

The Election Commission is set to conduct MLC bypolls for two MLA quota seats in the Telangana Legislative Council on January 29.

While Mahesh Kumar Goud is the working president of the Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC), Venkat Balmoor is the Telangana NSUI president who contested and lost from Huzurabad, against Eatala Rajendar, in the bypoll held in October 2021.

There are currently five vacant seats in the Telangana Legislative Council, including two under the MLA quota vacated after MLCs Kadiyam Srihari and Padi Kaushik Reddy were elected as MLAs in the recent Assembly polls.

Deputy chief minister Bhatti Vikramarka Mallu, ministers Uttam Kumar Reddy, Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy, Tummala Nageswara Rao, and Jupally Krishna Rao were present on the occasion.