Telangana elections: EC rejects nominations of 606 candidates

Hyderabad: The Election Commission on Tuesday, November 14, stated that nominations filed by 606 candidates have been rejected after scrutiny.

Most of the nominations rejected are of Independent candidates.

The returning officers of all 119 assembly constituencies have also furnished the list of 2898 validly nominated candidates, the poll body said.

As many as 4,798 candidates have filed their nominations.

Nearly half of them filed their papers in all 119 Assembly constituencies on Friday, which was the last day for filing nominations.

Also Read

Telangana elections: 4,798 candidates file nominations

A total of 5,716 sets of nominations were received by the electoral officers since November 3. The majority of the candidates are independents.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj, 2,324 candidates filed their nominations on the last day. A total of 2,768 sets of nominations were filed on that day. Scrutiny of nominations will be taken up on November 13 while the last day for withdrawal of nominations is November 15.

The maximum number of candidates (145) filed their nominations from Gajwel, where chief minister and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) president K Chandrasekhar Rao is seeking re-election for a third consecutive term.

Telangana is going to the polls on November 30.