Watch: Asaduddin Owaisi, Madhavi Latha cast vote in Hyderabad

Hyderabad Desk

Hyderabad: Polling for the 17 Lok Sabha seats, including the Hyderabad seat in Telangana, is underway, with voters standing in queues to exercise their franchise on Monday. All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) president and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Hyderabad MP candidate Madhavi Latha also cast their vote.

Madhavi Latha is contesting against the sitting Hyderabad MP, Asaduddin Owaisi, and BRS’ Gaddam Srinivas Yadav.

Union Minister G Kishan Reddy casts his vote in Telangana’s Barkatpura.

Assembly segment areas under Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency

Currently, the seven assembly segment areas under the Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency are:

  • Malakpet
  • Karwan
  • Goshamahal
  • Charminar
  • Chandrayangutta
  • Yakutpura
  • Bahadurpura

Hyderabad Lok Sabha seats

In Hyderabad, although many candidates have filed their nominations, the main contest is between AIMIM’s Asaduddin Owaisi and BJP’s Madhavi Latha. The AIMIM has held the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat since 1984. The Congress has also fielded its Hyderabad district president, Sameer Waliullah, while the BRS has nominated Gaddam Srinivas.

Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi, as an independent candidate, represented the constituency between 1984-89. From 1989 to 2004, the Lok Sabha constituency was represented by Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi as an AIMIM MP. Asaduddin Owaisi has been the MP from the Hyderabad constituency since 2004, and if he wins the seat again, it will be his fifth consecutive win.

Also Read